PDA

View Full Version : An Ambitious Noob seeks Assistance...

justinarose
07-30-2011, 04:43 AM
Hey guys, I am kinda new to the whole IV and EV thing, but I'm trying to master it. :)

I recently acquired a metagross through breeding with an adamant nature with these IVs:
HP 31
ATK 31
DEF 31
Sp.A 15
Sp.D 17
SPD 29

Are these good enough for competitive battling? I don't know how to make them better since they can only inherit 3 stats from parents, which were, as you can see, HP, Attack and Defence. So, how can they get better?

Also, how do you un-EV in Gen V?? In previous ones I would use the un-EV berries (tomato, kelpsey etc...) but they aren't in this game. I want to add more HP EVs to my metagross.

Finally, about his move set, I can't get thunder punch or fire punch (or is it flame punch... anyways) you used to be able to get them tutored in the battle frontier. I really want some moves like that to add some variety to his set. There doesn't seem to be any possible way to get these moves in gen V.

If you more experienced people out there could give me a hand in any way I would REALLY appreciate it!

Thanks!

Pokemon Trainer Sarah
07-30-2011, 06:00 AM
They can't really get better than that I don't think. You just have to be lucky with the other stats you can't pass on.

The Ev-reducing berries are still available but only through the Global Link Dream World. If you have Wi-Fi you can connect to that and get some. =)

From what I can see, there isn't a way to get those moves in 5th gen right now, save for rebreeding the Metagross in a 4th gen game, using a tutor on that game to get the move and then transferring it to 5th gen.

When the third 5th gen game is released there'll probably be some kind of battle area with move tutors, but until then, you're right, it doesn't seem possible.

justinarose
07-30-2011, 10:44 PM
thanks for that!

aside from thunder punch, are there any other moves I could use to add some variety to his set? currently he knows:
earthquake