PDA

View Full Version : Which starter is the best?

naturalgenius
04-18-2007, 10:18 AM
I know there is probably a thread on this subject, but I'm new at this. I was curious what is the best one out of all three? :eh:

Blaziken Knight
04-18-2007, 10:40 AM
Naetoru or something whats his name?, the green guy. hes cool

Razzmatazz
04-18-2007, 12:25 PM
Turtwig (Grass type) is a good choice, and it can fare well against the first gym. It eventually becomes Grass/Ground, giving it a very unique type.

Chimchar (Fire type) wont do good at the first gym unless you evolve it by then, since when it evolves it becomes Fighting type too, and Fighting is strong against the Rock types in the first gym. If you've used Blaziken, expect Chimchar and his evolutionns to pretty much be a clone of that.

Piplup (Water) can easily take on the first gym with its type, but it will only know Bubble by then unless you really over level it early on. Eventually, t becomes Water/Steel, which gives it a good amount of resistance, but I've heard that despite that its kind of weak.

So, statistically, Turtwig is the best choice, followed by Chimchar and lastly Piplup. But you could play the game with any one of those and still be alright - remember, you'll have a full party of 6 Pokemon, so you don't have to rely on just the Starter.

:rambo:

mootixguy
04-18-2007, 12:30 PM
Yes, I think there's probably already a thread on this, but I shan't be unsporting.

DP's starters are ALL cool in their own right, with interesting type-combos. I'm choosing Turtwig because he's cute, and because I'm tired of choosing Fire starters. Besides, he can Earthquake Infernape and has high HP, attack and defence! Haha. Infernape is the super attack guy. He has equal Attack and Special Attack, both great, but he may not be able to endure many hits. Empoleon... not sure what it has, but its Steel type provides it lots of resistances, notably neutralizing the weakness to Grass.