Member List
Calendar
F.A.Q.
Search
Log Out
Pokemon Forum - Pokemon Elite 2000  

Go Back   Pokemon Forum - Pokemon Elite 2000 » Pokemon RPG's » Pokemon Ultra RPG » Stories

Stories Write a story to catch Pokemon. A Grader will then decide if it catches or not.

Old 04-24-2009, 03:58 AM
Moon Master Offline
Experienced Trainer

Send a message via AIM to Moon Master
Default Chronicles of a Charcoal Maker [Book Two Complete]

Burning Desires of a Charcoal Maker

Foreword: I've been doing creative writing for awhile, but this is my first time writing a story for the URPG. I read some other people's stories first an tried to replicate that format, but I don't know if that makes this seem stale and unoriginal. Well, like the sticky said, I'm my own worse critic. Here it is: my story.

On a warm Spring night, a lone figure stood beside a flaming barrel. The rusted metal cylinder glowed a fierce orange from the intense heat festering within. The light from the fire gave the barrel’s attendant a subtle orange glow, revealing him to be a young man. In his left hand was a pair of steel tongs with flame-resistant rubber grips. The young man casually dipped the tongs into the barrel, removing from it a piece of blackened, charred wood. He carefully placed it in a bucket, setting it down atop several other pieces.

His name was Marcus Roebuck, and he was a Charcoal Maker. A niche job that had been held by his father and grandfather before him, the Charcoal Maker wasn’t a mainstream occupation. Rather they provided a valuable service to their neighboring city, which housed a Pokémon Gym specializing in the Fire type. The Charcoal made by the Roebuck family was unique; through some unknown power the Charcoal could intensify the power of Fire type attacks.