PDA

View Full Version : [HGSS] Guide for Voltorb Flip

PapaLuLu27
03-29-2010, 10:47 AM
Now everybody knows that for all Pokémon HeartGold and SouSilvers version outside of Japan, the Game Corner was stripped of gambling, and the slots were replaced with a game. I know right, a game in the game corner! OUTRAGEOUS. Anyways, if you didn’t know, you can say goodbye to losing coins ;A; You can thank European gambling restrictions for this. So anyways, the new game is called Voltorb Flip, located in the usual Game Corners of Celdaon City and Goldenrod City. I’m no expert, but I’m sure that I could at least get you started.

So here’s the game itself, summarised;
• There are 25 panels on a board.
• You flip these panels.
• The panels contain either a 1, 2, 3 or a Voltorb.
• Flipping over a Voltorb is a loss, no coins gained.
• The first number you flip is your starting number.
• All numbers flipped afterwards are multipliers.
• The goal is to earn all the coins you can in one game.

Okay, anything you noticed so far to help you? The coins you get are based on multiplication, and since 1 does absolutely nothing in that, flipping over a 1 is useless. Focus on flipping 2s and 3s.

But how, you ask? Well this game is not all chance, like the slots. Simple things (and difficult things >_>) can be worked out. But first thing’s first, there are panels along the right side and the bottom, what are they?

Well the number next to Voltorb is the number of Voltorb panels there are in that line of panels. Because there are no more than 5 panels in any line, there cannot be any more than 4 Voltorb. This is because the number on top indicates the sum of all the multipliers in that row, so if there was a 5 there, and 3 next to Voltorb, there can only be a 2 and a 3 multiplier in that row. You can work out what multipliers are in the row, but to save time for you I’ll write it here.
(V = Number next to Voltorb, S = Number at the top)
V+S = 5 (all 1)
V+S = 6 (2, rest 1)